Live Raw Sauerkraut recipe

I have wanted to make some raw sauerkraut for a while now. First I had to use up the cooked stuff that my boyfriend made me. (He makes really good cooked sauerkraut. I really need to get that recipe from him…)

So today I did a search for recipes, because I lost the one I wanted to try. For once I am happy I lost a recipe, because I found something better. I was going to post this a week from now, with the steps I take to make it. After some thought I would rather give you the info I found today. I really like the information on this webpage, and really need to read the rest of the site. (totally on my ever growing to do list…)

Here is a recipe for raw sauerkraut that is also alive and full of probiotics! They use liquid whey! If you have never used whey, it is really amazing! It is a natural by product of Greek yogurt and cream cheese. I have posted about it before, with instructions on how to make it.

So right now I have milk heating in a slow cooker to make cream cheese. With the whey I will be making this sauerkraut! I may also try it again with the vinegar brewed in lemons once that is done.

I am pretty excited and plan to be posting more about this.

Here are the ingredients for this recipe:

  • 2 large cabbages. Reserve 3-4 large leaves – enough to cover the surface of the brewing container
  • 2 large onions
  • Optionally, other vegetables in season. I have also used hot peppers, carrots, beets, beetroot, caraway seeds, a wide variety of fresh herbs, radish, curry powder, ginger and garlic, all with great success
  • 2 teaspoons of sea salt. Use more salt if you are not adding the whey below, less if you have a good raw milk kefir whey. The salt helps promote the lactic acid bacteria in competition with bad bacteria
  • 1 cup filtered water.
  • 1 cup of liquid whey. If whey is not available, use 1 cup of lemon juice, or half a cup of vinegar, preferably apple-cider vinegar. White supermarket vinegar is a poor alternative. The clear liquid whey that forms as kefir or yogurt sours as it ages is by far the best starter, and will make a reliable and delicious sauerkraut by introducing plenty of lactic acid bacteria
  • 2 Tbs juniper berries (optional)
  • 2 Tbs seaweed such as wakame, kelp or dulse (optional)

For the steps read Grow Youthful‘s sauerkraut recipe page.

It will be days before I can even start mine, because I have no whey on hand, so my boyfriend is cooking me up some of his yummy yummy sauerkraut!!!

Leave a Reply

