Starting Sourdough

Bread has been a staple food for longer than written history. There are countless ways to make it, and each type has it’s own history. Buying bread already cut from a store is a fairly new concept. What we now call artisan bread used to just be called bread.

back to basics

Today I am starting a sourdough starter! I know these are passed down from generation to generation, but do you know how hard it is to find a starter in the city in Texas?

I have planned on doing this for about a month now, but I have not had the time, and energy. I did set aside a glass jar for the project. What I did not realize at that time how big of a container I needed.

Being the avid coffee fanatic that I am, I always have a spare coffee maker with coffee pot. So I cleaned up the glass coffee pot, removing all the stains with vinegar. I made my starter in that. There is a joke in there somewhere but I am not sure what it is though.

After the starter is good I can start making my own sourdough breads. I hope to experiment with a pumpkin sourdough, but right now I will just be happy to make regular sourdough.

Here is how I made my sourdough starter:

  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 package of active dry yeast
  • 2 cups water

Mix yeast into the warm water. You need a glass or ceramic container. It needs to be big enough to let it expand.

Once yeast is whisked in slowly add flour, mixing so that it does not get clumpy. Cover with a towel and find a place to let it sit. Once ready store in the refrigerator until you are ready to use.

I have mine on the counter, in a corner. You want to check it often. once it is bubbly and smells sour but good, it is ready. If it shows and weird colors like pink or orange through it out ASAP. That is mold and can make you very sick.

To feed your sourdough just replace equal parts of flour and water that you use. If you take a cup of starter add a cup of flour and a cup of water and a pinch of sugar. Leave it back on the counter until it is ready again. If you are not using it all the time, you will need to feed it. I am still learning about that, but I did find a website that is useful! Be sure to read through Breadtopia, So far this seems like a useful page! I am reading Managing your Sourdough Starter for tips!

2 responses to “Starting Sourdough

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Yeast Bread | Mine Kinder Garden

  2. Pingback: General Updates | Mine Kinder Garden

Leave a Reply

