Honey Pumpkin & Shrimp Stir Fry

This is my favorite nontraditional pumpkin recipe. I change it up from time to time based on my mood, so feel free to experiment.

IMG_1278

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cubed cooked pumpkin with the skin removed
  • 1 pound shrimp
  • 1 cup each of 2 different squash
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 1/4 c soy sauce
  • 1 cup mushroom (if you do not like mushroom feel free to add carrot or some other vegetable.)
  • 1/2 c red onion
  • dash of cinnamon (optional)
  • 4 cups cooked rice

Because of the amount of prep work involved I like to have my pumpkin already cooked. This really helps. When choosing squash feel free to get as creative as you like. You can always use yellow squash and zucchini if you are more comfortable with that. If you are using a heartier squash, go ahead and precook that too.

This year I used carnival and acorn squash. I precooked the carnival but cut the acorn into thin strips.

Make sure you shrimp is clean and rinsed. Pour the honey and soy sauce over and mix lightly. Set it aside while you cut your squash. (Or for one hour.)

Preheat the pan. Once the pan is really hot add the butter. Give it a moment to get back up to temperature and then pour in the shrimp mix. Be sure to stand back, it should steam up.

Let that cook down to a nice simmer, and then add uncooked squash, mushroom, and onion. If the pan ever starts to look too dry feel free to add more butter or some water.

When everything is close to done add the precooked squash. Once that is warm, everything else should be done.

Serve over cooked rice. Adding chicken of fish broth to the rice will add another level of flavor.

And now for something funny:

So I started cutting up the pumpkin the way I always do. In fact it has become so mundane the kids no longer ask to help.

Then this happened:

IMG_1280

The handle came right off the knife. We all stood around it a little surprised. I mean yeah they are old knives, and this is a great excuse to get new ones, but I never saw it coming!

Thankfully my boyfriend, who is often far wiser than me, handled the situation with a pair of pliers. I was then handed a sharper knife.

One response to “Honey Pumpkin & Shrimp Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: How to Cook Pumpkin for Pies & Breads | Mine Kinder Garden

Leave a Reply

