Depression is a symptom of something else

061__23_

Lately I have been dealing with depression. I have felt times of hopelessness. This morning as I realize this depression is a symptom of fear. All depression is rooted in fear, and attachment.

Feeling down and sad is okay and natural, but deep clinical depression is not. We make excuses but in truth there is something deeper that needs to be dealt with.

I used to start each morning with Dharma and Zen studies. I used to meditate daily. I am not sure when this stopped. So here I am sad, and hopeless feeling. I decided to look up Zen teachings about depression. I did not find any, rather I found, “The seeds to happiness.”

Well of course I did. By focusing on the depression I just brought more. I want joy! I shall plant those seeds!

There is no path to happiness,

Happiness is the path…

So today I take a new breath. I decide to be happy! I choose Joy!

Tonight I shall sit Zazen, and remind myself why I do what I do.

Zazen is a form of meditation popular in Zen. It is the practice of staring at a blank wall.

One response to “Depression is a symptom of something else

  1. As a Christian I wish you all the best…

Leave a Reply

