Oatmeal Muffins with Whey

I have been making muffins lately for my kids to have for breakfast and snacks. Today I wanted to try something new!

I wanted to find muffins that use oats rather than flour. I have no issues with flour, but it seems like this would be higher in fiber. Since I am on the healthy heart diet, I need extra fiber.

Looking around I found you can replace oatmeal flour with regular flour easily. but I did need to make adjustments with the baking powder.

To make oatmeal flour all you have to do is run oatmeal through a food possessor. 1 cup of oats makes 3/4 cup of flour.

oatmeal flour

oatmeal flour

Lately I am also looking for ways to use the liquid whey I get from making yogurt. Liquid whey is a natural byproduct of yogurt. Making yogurt is really easy, and you can learn how. Homemade Yogurt

Liquid whey

Liquid whey

You can use liquid whey in any recipe that uses buttermilk. It is an equal substitution.

So here is my recipe:

Daisy Helping

As you can see, I had help from Daisy

  • 1 c oats
  • 1 c liquid whey
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/2 c brown sugar packed
  • 1/2 soft butter
  • 1 c oatmeal four
  • 1 tea cinnamon
  • 1/4 tea clove
  • 2 tea baking powder

Soak the whole oats in the liquid whey for an hour.

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl mix egg, sugar butter, and the oat mix.

In a smaller bowl mix oat flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cloves and cinnamon.

Mix the dry ingredients in the wet ones.

Bake about 20 mins.

One response to “Oatmeal Muffins with Whey

  1. Pingback: Homemade Cream Cheese and Cheesecake Recipe | Mine Kinder Garden

Leave a Reply

