Homemade Mayo (in 5 minutes!)

back to basics

As a general whole I am not a big fan of mayo. My family loves it, and I don’t mind keeping it in the house.

I have read on other sites how easy it is to make mayo and wanted to give it a try myself. After reading a bunch of different recipes I put together my own, with the help of my mayo loving boyfriend.  Surprisingly I kinda like the results, but it is up to the rest of the family if we end up keeping this around. I may even tweak the recipe some too. So far, it has been a hit! All three kids, and the Monkey Man like it!

IMG_1094

I made a little over a cup of mayo with this recipe, that is about a half a jar. It cost me about 50 cents to make this much. That is about a dollar for a jar.

 A few Important Notes:

  • This recipe contains uncooked egg.
  • This recipe also contains vinegar and lemon, both are high in acid. There is some debate behind the safety of cooking with acid. Some people say that it is not really cooking or safe, where others say it is. I am not a Dr, or scientist so I am no authority.
  • I have eaten raw egg in cookie dough my whole life and never gotten sick. People have been eating raw egg for a long time without getting sick.
  • People have gotten sick from raw egg.
  • As with all things in life, it is really just a judgement call.

Mayo is an emulsion made from oil and egg yolk. Acid is added for tang and as a preservative. As long as those 3 things are present it is mayo. Everything else is added for flavor, so feel free to change it up!

Things Needed:

IMG_1090

  • 1 egg yolk at room temp (You can use the whole egg if you do not want to waste the whites)
  • 1 cup oil (olive, peanut, vegetable, ect) (I used vegetable because I had it on hand. I prefer olive, but I am out right now.)
  • 2 teaspoon Lemon Juice
  • 1 tablespoon Vinegar
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed

Homemade mayo has a milder flavor. Keep this in mind as you make it, and flavor to taste. You can actually make this right in the mayo jar, making for even less waste and clean up. Unfortunately for me, I learned that my immersion blinder is too big to fit in the mayo jar, so I used a soup take out container and transferred it into the mayo jar after.

  • Mix the egg, oil, lemon, and vinegar with the immersion blinder. If you do not have one, you can use a whisk or blender. I used the whole egg in mine, because I had no use for just one white right now.

I was totally shocked at how fast this turned to mayo! It took maybe 5 seconds before this was a creamy white mayo!

IMG_1091

From this point you have real mayo. Anything after this is completely optional, and you should totally experiment with flavors.

  • Add salt, and Dijon and mix with the immersion blender.

These are the most common flavors added and creates that tang that is expected with mayo.

  • Add garlic powder and celery seed

I wanted to add some onion powder too but I was out.

IMG_1092

I know it does not look exactly like mayo from the store, but that is because of everything I added for flavor.

You can add anything you want for flavor, and I am going to experiment with this more! At some point I want to start making my own vinegar, and I can not wait to see how that adds to the flavor as well!

When does this expire?

Homemade foods don’t come with a “use by date.” With any homemade food, if it looks suspect do not eat it! I have looked around for usage dates on homemade mayo. The common consciences is to use the date on the eggs. Truth is, it may even be a little longer. Vinegar and lemon juice are both natural preservatives, and this can add to the shelf life of it. Personally I do not have enough experience to really know. I have dated mine with the date on the eggs. If it last longer than that, I will keep an eye on it.

It may be better to make small amounts at a time. I made only one cup. I think that will last about 2 weeks in this house. Since I think it tastes so much better it may not even last that long. My goal is to make mayo about every two weeks.

Do you have an idea for flavored mayo? Share it!

Leave a Reply

