Starting With the Basics

These modern times in first world countries are not like any other time in history. We have everything at our fingertips and for the most part we can not imagine the world any other way. Love it or hate it, it is what it is.

The most influential people in my early life came from a slightly different world. My mother grew up in the mountains of Oregon. She had no electricity or running water in the house. Even in her time this was uncommon, but it is how my grandmother prefers to live even now. My mother’s family was very poor. They had to make their own candles for light in the house, they made their own butter, and cooked on a cast iron stove. They learned to forage for food, and hunt. My aunt has told me about picking brush flowers to sell to local florists. My great grandparents kept bees and had an apple orchard. That was just how things were done there. At 17 my mother married my father and ran away. She vowed to never live without plumbing again.

My father’s family was very different. From what I know they are a family with deep roots in history. I have heard amazing stories about some amazing people in my family. My grandparents, who were not poor, but lived in the post war depression era. My grandfather served in WWII and my grandmother was one of the most practical people I have ever met. With statements like “Waste not, Want not,” “A penny saved is a penny earned,” and “A stitch in time, saves nine,” echoing in my brain it only makes since that these are the things I say now.

My paternal grandmother made jelly. The first time I had store bought jelly was sometime after she died. I miss it, and I still call a Mason jar a jelly jar. It is for these reasons that the idea of making yogurt, vinegar and mayo seem so natural to me. I was young the first time I made my own butter. There is still no better taste to me than some homemade salted sweet cream butter!

Although I was raised fairly frugally we made very little from scratch in my home. The biggest reason was it is just easier to go buy a box of butter. I still recall the first disappointing taste of store bought jelly though. Although I am not ready to try that, I am going Back To Basics.

My Grandmother when she was young

My Grandmother when she was young

Did you know you can have a half a gallon of yogurt for the price of the milk? How about a life time supply of vinegar for the cost of bad wine? Did you know cream cheese is made from yogurt? I just learned all of this!

back to basics

Back to Basics is me learning how to get back to the roots. How to make more from scratch, and to live healthier. I want my kids to learn these skills, and so far I am learning these things are far easier than I ever thought. Anyone can get Back to Basics, and still have time for work and family!

Getting your children involved, will help them learn and grow as well!

Leave a Reply

